NMG Scholarship Winners Announced

Each year, the News Media Guild awards three college scholarships by lottery to members in good standing. The participation rate is always high, and this year was no exception. Here’s a look at this year’s winners:

The $2,000 award winners were nominated by newsperson Scott Bauer of Madison, Wisconsin, and technician Rich O’Neill of New Hampshire.

Bauer nominated his daughter, Anna Bauer, who is studying political science at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. O’Neill nominated his daughter, Julianna O’Neill, who is studying environmental social science at the University of Kent in the United Kingdom.

The $1,000 wild card scholarship winner is Julia Bailey. She’s the niece of newsperson Tom Davies of Indianapolis, and is studying musical theater at Stephens College.

The two $2,000 awards are available for Guild members and their spouses, children, grandchildren, parents or other members of their immediate households. The wild card scholarship is available to Guild members’ relatives, friends or co-workers who aren’t members of their immediate household.

The awards are made each year in memory of Patrick J. Sherlock, a late president of the Wire Service Guild, the forerunner of the News Media Guild. Sherlock had been an Associated Press writer and editor in Concord, N.H.; Portland and Augusta, Maine; and the General Desk in New York.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!