NMG members clean up in APME journalism contest

News Media Guild members scored an impressive number of awards

Hannah Dreier

Hannah Dreier

recently in this year’s Associated Press Media Editors association journalism competition.Photographer Charles Krupa of Boston won the News Single Photo award for a vivid shot taken amid the chaos of the Boston Marathon bombing.

It showed medical workers running an injured man past the finish line in a wheelchair. The judges called it the “iconic” image of the attack.

Best Use of Video went to a series produced by Dallas video journalist John Mone, Omaha photographer Nati Harnik and two former staffers.

Called “show-and-tell journalism” at its best by the judges, it detailed the heart-breaking effects of the devastating 2012 drought in the Midwest.

The team of Hannah Dreier and Juliet Williams of the Sacramento bureau earned two awards for their investigative scoops. They won in the Enterprise Reporting category for an expose on how California was diverting funds from a special license plate for 9/11 victims to supplement the state budget. They also nabbed the Charles Rowe Award for distinguished state reporting for uncovering vote-switching by California legislators after the outcome of controversial votes was clear.

Dreier, who’s now a newswoman in Las Vegas, also won the John L. Dougherty prize for exemplary work by a journalist aged 30 or younger. The judges cited her California Statehouse stories done through analysis of public records.

Several NMG members won honorable mentions in the contest:

_Chicago-based National Writer Sharon Cohen, in the feature-writing category, for “The Man Who Saved Many,” about an Army captain who helped many in Iraq with trauma yet couldn’t save himself at home.

_Oklahoma City photographer Sue Ogrocki, in the News Single Photo category, for her pictures of the devastation from tornadoes in Moore, Okla.

—New York City photographer Bebeto Matthews, in the Feature Series Photo category, for “Sandy Claus,” a series chronicling a man who founded a charity to collect and deliver toys to children affected by Superstorm Sandy.

AP’s New York and New Jersey staffs also jointly won the Charles Rowe Award for what judges called their “stellar” Sandy coverage.

Finally, honorable mentions for Deadline Reporting: went to the Wisconsin staff for coverage of the Sikh temple shooting and the Colorado staff for coverage of the Aurora theater shootings.