The News Media Guild’s officers are democratically elected by secret ballot.

Executive Committee (2015-2018)

The Executive Committee is the Guild’s administrative body, carrying out day to day decisions. It implements policy, makes decisions about grievances, and hires the union’s paid staff. The President supervises the interim operations of the local.

  • President: Martha Waggoner, Raleigh, N.C.
  • First Vice President: John Braunreiter, Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Vin Cherwoo, New York
  • Second Vice President: Barbara Rodriguez, Des Moines, Iowa
  • Third Vice President: Don Ryan, Portland, Ore.
  • Fourth Vice President: Steve Karnowski, Minneapolis
  • Fifth Vice President: Jill Bleed, Little Rock, Ark.

Representative Assembly

The RA is the union’s top governing body. It sets the budget and determines policy, including recommending negotiating team members. Because of the NMG’s 50-state scope, this body serves as the local’s “union hall.”


Midwest: Carla Johnson, Chicago
Broadcast: Lisa Dwyer-Shapiro, Washington
EFE News Service: Jorge Banales, Washington
New York: Stephanie Nano
New York: Vickie Cacioppo
Northeast: Mike Rubinkam. Allentown, Pa.
Northwest: Gary Mortlock, Spokane
Photographer: Lynne Sladky, Miami
South: Meg Kinnard, Columbia, S.C.
Southwest: Jim Vertuno, Austin
Television: Jeff Turner, Los Angeles
TU At Large 1: Dave Herron, Seattle
TU At Large 2: Ed Morsett, Denver
Washington Area: Darlene Superville
West: John Rogers, Los Angeles


Broadcast (alt), VACANT
Midwest, (alt), Lindsey Tanner, Chicago
New York (alt), Stephanie Siek
New York (alt), Dan Derella
Northeast (alt), Michael Sirolly, Philadelphia
Northwest (alt), Catherine Hills, Spokane
Photographer (alt), Elaine Thompson, Seattle
South (alt), VACANT
Southwest (alt), VACANT
Television, (alt), Rick Gentilo, Washington
TU At-Large 1 (alt), Dave Herron, Seattle
TU At-Large 2 (alt), Bobby Johnson, Chicago
UPI (alt), Al Swanson
Washington Area (alt), Will Lester
West (alt), Katie Oyan, Phoenix